(GMT)05 JAN 2017 OBLII:
Regent Park once belonged to Barking Abbey until Henry VIII dissolved the monasteries and took their property for the crown. From that point, it was a hunting park until King George IV (then Prince Regent) commissioned a master plan from John Nash. Eventually, the plan changed and the park first opened to the public in 1835.
See the interesting facts about the park.
Regent’s Park is 166 hectares, or 410.2 acres, in size. The outer circle is 4.3 kilometres long and the inner circle is 1.3 km.
The inner circle also contains Queen Mary’s Gardens which has more than 30,000 roses of 400 different varieties.
In many ways, Regent Park was the world’s first scientific park. By 1826, Sir Stamford Raffles was making moves to establish the Zoological Society of London in Regent Park and create the first scientific zoo for “teaching and elucidating zoology.” He fell ill and the creation of the zoo was taken over by the Marquis of Lansdowne, who opened it as the world’s first scientific zoo in 1828.
At first, the animals were kept entirely indoors until they started dying and the zoo realised that they needed fresh air and exercise. Despite a Royal Charter from King George, the general public was not admitted until 1848.
Charles Darwin was a Zoological Fellow and regularly visited the park in 1831.